DIY kitchen backsplash for under $200!

As promised, this post is going to be about the new kitchen backsplash that Gerry and I just put up a few weeks ago. A little background on our kitchen…Gerry and I remodeled our kitchen as soon as we moved into our house back in 2009. It was a total transformation and went from this:


to this:

We absolutely love our kitchen and it has basically looked like this since we remodeled 3 years ago. Of course, we added the stove top, blinds, etc. but we never added a backsplash.

I had come to terms with just having a painted wall in my kitchen instead of a backsplash, but I really wanted to add some pendant lights over the bar. I ended up searching the internet for some pendant light inspiration and I stumbled upon Stillettos and Diapers blog which showed her DIY backsplash that she made from a product called Airstone. I immediately knew that I was going to tackle the same project. I did a little research and found out that they sell Airstone at the Lowe’s in Titusville. The next day I made a little trip to Titusville and picked up 3 boxes of Airstone (1 box of natural edge piece for $29 or $39 and two boxes of straight edge for $49 a piece) and 2 containers of the Airstone adhesive ($15 each). Then I got started!

This is what we were working with before…

I started on a straight edge to make sure that my bottom layer was perfectly level. The adhesive is really easy to put on but it can get a little messy. Warning…it does not dry clear so you will want to make sure that you wipe it up immediately to keep from getting white spot on the front of the stone.

By the end of the night this is what we had!

It took us a good 4 hours to put all of this up. It was the middle of the week and we both had to work in the morning so we called it quits at this point. The following Saturday, Gerry used a grinder to cut all of the pieces that we needed for around the light sockets and I glued them all in place. Here are some picture of the final product:

I also ended up finding the pendant lights at Lowe’s. I originally had recessed lighting so I bought two conversion kits. They are SUPER easy to use. The top just screws into the recessed lighting like a light bulb and then the face plate goes over the original light. You can’t even tell that it’s a converter. The kit does not come with a pendant light cover so I had to buy those separately. Overall I’m REALLY happy with the way the kitchen looks. I can’t even believe that we lived without a backsplash for three years! I hope you all enjoyed this post and please feel free to leave any questions or comments 🙂

Here’s a picture of the corner pieces. I basically just fit them together as best as I could.

11 thoughts on “DIY kitchen backsplash for under $200!

    • Thanks, I’m glad that you liked it. Airstone is great and really easy to work with. It’s not carried in all Lowe’s stores yet so just make sure to call your local store to check on the availability if you’re trying to find it 🙂

  1. Wow Shannon…I think I’ve found our backsplash too…thanks for doing a write up on it, looks fairly easy!! What kind of tools do you need to cut the pieces to fit around sockets/ switches?

    • Thanks!! It is pretty easy. We ended up using a hacksaw and a hand file for the pieces around the sockets/switches. We also had to cut a lot of pieces lengthwise to fit on the top row. My husband used a grinder to cut those pieces because it was so much faster than using the hacksaw. Make sure to wear a mask if you use a grinder,the stone produces a lot of dust. Good luck and feel free to ask any questions!!

      • Thank you!! I am in the middle of working on this same project and I need a bunch cut lengthwise….a hacksaw just isn’t cutting it, no pun intended, and a jigsaw is breaking them…..it is making me crazy!! Love this product and I LOVE how your project ended up…beautiful!!

    • I basically just butted them up to each other as best as I could. The corner of my backsplash is pretty far back from eye view. Plus I put a coffee maker in front of it so no one can see it 🙂 I added a picture of the corner in the post for you to see what it looks like.

    • Hi Tammy! No, I didn’t seal the stone…I wasn’t really sure if I could put a sealer on it because it’s artificial stone. I haven’t had any problems so far with stains or anything getting on it. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I don’t run into any problems.

  2. not liking this. for me, its too much texture (too busy) next to the granite. but im grateful for the tips on its application so thanks!

Leave a Reply

