DIY Address Post Plant Hanger

I have a confession…I’m slightly obsessed with the Shanty 2 Chic website! I just love all of their projects and that they build everything themselves. I’m sure you will hear me reference them in numerous posts.

I knew that I wanted to make something for the new house that made it feel like it was actually ours. When I saw this post on the Shanty 2 Chic website I instantly knew that I wanted to make it.

I don’t have a ton of pictures for this because I wasn’t planning on returning to my blog at the time, but I will do the best I can to explain the steps.

To start, I hit up my local Home Depot and purchased a wood post with a decorative cut out, a post cap, numbers, and a plant hanger. The post and the cap were right next to each other in the lumber section.

This project was seriously so simple. The first thing I did was glue the post cap onto the post with gorilla glue and let it dry overnight. In the morning I stained the entire post with Varathane Dark Walnut and let it dry for about an hour. To protect the finish I applied a coat of Rustoleum Spar Varnish to the entire post and let that dry.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f4e/41819055/files/2014/12/img_9187-0.jpg

Once everything was dry I attached the numbers and the planter.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f4e/41819055/files/2014/12/img_9190-0.jpg

That’s it! So simple!!

When it came time to plant it, I dug a deep hole, stuck the post in, and packed the dirt as tight as possible around it.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f4e/41819055/files/2014/12/img_9273.jpg

What do you think?? I love the way it looks in front of our new house.

One thought on “DIY Address Post Plant Hanger

Leave a Reply

